Fun in the Sun

Hi people! Time for me to re-cap my recent California trip. I was there for 10 days (8 Sept – 18 Sept) and the time flew by. As usual, it was harder to leave my family and friends behind than it was the last time. I’m a little disappointed in the lack of “important” photos I captured; on the plus side, I got a ton of my nephew. So, if you’re not interested in that…well, what are you even doing here? As previously mentioned, my sister and her husband recently purchased their home. They moved in on August 25, and have been renovating since the beginning of August. In between helping my sister make decor choices, comparison shopping, purchasing, unpacking and entertaining a 14-month old – we were pretty busy.

Let’s do this!

First of all, as I mentioned in my previous post, this was the first time I flew from Canada -> US. I was (and still am) confused about how that process works, but we’ll get into that in a bit. I looked up on the AA website the recommended amount of time I should arrive at the airport before my flight: 3 hours! I scoffed and decided 2 was enough. Keep in mind that my flight took off at 9:15 am, which meant getting the airport at 7:15 am. Short story short, I was sitting at my gate at 7:45 am. This was after going through customs. Crazy town.

My “window” seat.

 

Thankfully, our flight was wayyyyyyyyy under-booked. There were less than 50 people on the entire flight, which meant we could move wherever we wanted. I moved one row up to where they didn’t forget to add a window.

That’s better. Nap time!

Bath time!

Peek a boo!

The circle was always his favorite.

He had a block in each hand and then fell over, obviously one of the blocks hit him right between the eyes. So I put him on my lap and gave him cookies. That’s what you’re supposed to do, right?

South Coast Mall was doing a promotion benefiting a food bank and there were these large displays made with cans of food all around the mall. This was one of my favorites.

Typical.

Entertaining himself at lunch. We ate at a really cool restaurant that serves only seasonal food (their menu changes 52 times a year – every week.)

Ready for a swim!

I might have done that to his hair.

He came all the way across the room to give me a high-five!

There’s a wildlife conservatory near my sisters house, which means there are a lot of random animals that you’ll see around (including deer and ROADRUNNERS.) These hawks were always flying around, looking for a small dog to pick up, no doubt.

We went to the park.

We ate snacks in bed.

We played on a light-up mat with our best friend.

Back-splash installed!

His favorite meal: black beans.

I taught him how to cheers. He taught me how to pour one out for our homies.

I was giving him a bath while my sis was doing laundry and she was talking to him from the other room. It was basically the cutest thing I’ve ever witnessed. “Is Auntie Valerie giving you a bath?” Then he looks at me and says “Yuh.” “Can you say thank you?” “Yuh.” I have a video. I wont bore you with it.

I did some shopping. This was all BOGO – hayyy!

We wrestled with Zebra.

Someone was mad when someone else was on her phone – so he took measures into his own hands.

But it all ended in kisses.

This hair-do cracks me up.

My girlz

We might have broken a glass bottle outside which was impossible to sweep up so Grandpa fixed it.

Grandma gave him a nerd haircut.

My last full day at their house comprised of unpacking their entire kitchen: boring. And, this: perfect.

Dessert and milk before bed.

One person peek-a-boo never gets old.

Then I almost (literally) ran into Danny Pudi aka Abed. He smiled at me. My life is complete.

The way home, I made sure to leave lots of extra time for the airport (as in, getting there the full 2 hours ahead of time) instead of taking my chances based on my previous flight. I thought that customs could be a potential problem. But, guess what? I didn’t go through customs until after I landed. I don’t get it.

Waiting, waiting, waiting.

And, once again, I was on an extremely underbooked flight. This time, about 20 people flying in coach. So, we all spread out and I watched Darling Companion (wouldn’t recommend) and napped (would always recommend.)

Tikky likes to help me unpack.

The saddest part of my whole trip: getting home and noticing that the bottle of perfume (that I had a hard time deciding whether or not to buy) was EMPTY.

And now, I’m home. It’s good to be back and focus on doula stuff and job hunting. Woo – life!

One comment

  1. Pingback: Doul-ing with Doulas « broader borders

Leave a Reply

