We Did It

We did exactly what we said we’d do for L’halloween: pizza, beer and Hocus Pocus. It’s nice to see traditions hold strong no matter where you’re located. Dave saw our landlord with a jack o’ lantern shirt on (she’s very pregnant) but other than that we saw, like, no one dressed up. We’ve surmised that it’s the area that we live in, since before it got too late out we were driving around residential areas and there were very few houses that were decorated or even had jack o’ lanterns outside. We’ll have to remember this for next year and try to do something about it. Or we can do just what we did this year and in later years say “Remember when we lived in Brampton and no one celebrated Halloween but us?” ANYWAY.

We didn’t get around to carving pumpkins until the night before, seeing as we were away all weekend at my birth doula workshop (don’t worry, that recap post is coming soon.)

Here they are! We got BIG ones; they were the same price ($3.99) no matter how many pounds.

We set up our cutting area on the floor with a special about witches playing in the background.

It took me awhile to get the top off but I did it!

There’s our guts and the nicely separated seeds, ready for roasting!

And 28 minutes of scraping we get this!

Dave was already happily carving away before I got started. He likes to freehand and he likes to not tell me what he’s making. I asked that he make it “blog appropriate.”

All done! When he turned his pumpkin around he told me it was a “dragon monster type of face” and I laughed but could not, for the life of me, see any sort of face in that cut out.

This ones mine – BOO!

Oooooooooh, there it is. Once it lit up I could see it, I wasn’t expecting a profile. You can also see that he used a serrated scraper for the inside. I contemplated trying to use that on the outside of the pumpkin to try a wood-grain effect but I wasn’t sure it would work.

And with the lights out!

And with that and Halloween, it wasn’t even the most exciting thing to happen this week. I dropped Dave off at school on Monday around 1:30, he had a 2 pm appointment to get a mask fitting done. This is a special mask that hospital staff have to wear if there are serious outbreaks and/or you are working with people who have sensitive respiratory systems. I got a text from him at 1:40 that said “They’re making me goddamn shave.” Obviously I thought this was huge prank (and it would have been a well played one), but I played along. It turns out he wasn’t joking. He spent the next 45 minutes in the school bathroom with a disposable razor trying to rid his face of the one thing that makes Dave who he is: his beard.

Dave and I have lived together for more than 5 years and I had never even seen him without a beard. He would only let me send a picture to my mom and his mom, so I did that. My mom responded with “Oh no, a gunman held Dave hostage and shaved him 🙂 🙂 :)” He was pretty devastated. But, as my mom pointed out, he can start growing it back today! And he is. It’s fun to see how fast it’s actually growing back in. We picked up our pumpkins that night and I asked him if he feels weird without his beard, his response: “My face is cold. :(”

Who is this guy?

It works better with his costume. Who’s even seen a UPS man with a beard, before? With a mustache like that it was either this or a child predator costume. 😉

6 comments

Leave a Reply

